30-Hour Driver Ed Class
What kind of classroom options do you offer?
Online: This is a great option for students with busy schedules or who would like to get started right away. Students are able to complete up to three hours per day and can finish the class in as little as 10 days. They can complete this course at their own pace on a phone, tablet, or computer. Students will be taught through slides, videos, and interactive quizzes. Students must complete quizzes to move on to the next section, ensuring that they retain what they are learning. This course is open to all Minnesota students.
In-Person: This is for students who need to learn in a more traditional classroom setting. Classes are led by a state-certified instructor and offered on select days. If students need to miss a day of class, they will be given the option of making up the class by attending a future session.
How do I obtain a Minnesota learner's permit?
Once you've completed our online or in-person class, you must take the permit test at a Minnesota DVS station. The permit test can be scheduled at the DVS Website. In the Appointments box, click on Schedule an Appointment, then Driver Services, then Class D Knowledge Exam. Tests can be scheduled up to 30 days in advance. At the exam station, you'll need to bring:
- Blue Card (We will issue you the blue card once you've completed your class)
- Two documents for proof of ID (We always suggest bringing your certified birth certificate (not the hospital version) and social security card.
- Cash or credit card to pay the DVS Fee. Click here to see a current list of DVS Fees.
You are also encouraged to fill out the pre-application form to save time. You'll find that form on the DVS website. In the Driver Services box, click on 'Pre-Apply for a Driver's License or ID' and follow the prompts. Please note that the information being gathered is for the student.
How do the in-person classes work?
Our state-licensed teachers use PowerPoints, videos, tests, and quizzes. We have built PowerPoints based on the Minnesota Driver's Manual, important driving laws and techniques, and information that is likely to be on the permit test. Students may take notes during class if they wish.
Students are expected to be in class for the full three hours each day. If a student misses a class, they can make up the class online. Once a student has completed the 30 hours of classroom training, they will receive a blue card.
Driver Education Requirements
What are the restrictions on a teen's license for the first year?
During the first six months of licensure, driving is prohibited from midnight until 5 a.m. unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years old, driving between home and work, driving between home and a school event for which the school does not provide transportation, or driving for employment purposes. During the first six months of licensure, only one passenger under the age of 20 (not a member of the driver's immediate family) is permitted unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. During the second 6 months of licensure, no more than three passengers under the age of 20 (not members of the driver's immediate family) are permitted unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
What is the process for a teen to get a driver's license?
Students may obtain their permit once they turn 15 years old. Before getting their permit, they will need to finish a driver education course through a state-licensed school and pass the knowledge test at their local DVS. They must be at least 14 years old when they begin taking the classroom course.
Once they have their permit, they can begin driving with their parents. At the age of 16, they may take a road test to receive their driver's license as long as they have practiced at least 50 hours with a parent, completed 6 hours of behind-the-wheel lessons with a state-licensed driving school, and have held their permit for at least six months.
How do I obtain a Minnesota driver's license?
Students must first have held their permit for at least six months and be at least 16 years old. Once they have completed their 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with our certified instructors, they can take their Minnesota driving exam. This test can be scheduled up to 30 days in advance at the DVS website. In the Appointments box, click Schedule an Appointment, select Driver Services, and then Class D Skill Exam. You are also encouraged to fill out the pre-application form to save time. You'll find that form using the same DVS website link. In the Driver Services box, click on Pre-Apply for a Driver's License or ID and follow the prompts. Please note that the information being gathered is for the student.
Please be sure to bring to your test
- White card (this will be issued at your final lesson)
- The driving log showing you've completed at least 50 hours. Please note that if you are using an app to track hours, you will need to bring a printed form. Some apps include the official Minnesota driving log form.
- Social Security number
What are your office hours?
We do not staff anyone at our locations, but we do have a main office where phone calls are answered from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM Friday. We realize these hours may not work for everyone's busy schedule, so we do our best to check emails and return phone calls outside of these hours whenever possible.
Do you accept transfer students from other schools?
Yes. Students who have completed their classroom portion with another school may register for behind-the-wheel lessons with us. Please ask your school to provide you with a completion letter. We will need this letter to issue you a blue card.
We also accept students who may have already completed a portion of their behind-the-wheel lessons with another school. We will need a completion letter stating how many hours you have completed.
Do you offer a payment plan?
Your balance can be paid in full at any time. If you choose to make payments, our payment policy is as follows:
- $50 deposit due at registration
- $120 due upon completion of classroom portion
- Remaining balance due prior to scheduling the first behind-the-wheel lesson
What is your refund policy?
All sales are final.
How do I schedule a behind-the-wheel lesson?
Log in to your student account on our website. Choose an available time and your preferred instructor.
When should I schedule my driving lessons?
Schedule your first lesson after 10-15 hours of driving with a parent. It's best to plan your second lesson halfway between your first lesson and your desired road test date. We recommend scheduling your last lesson about a week or two before your desired road test date.
What do I need to bring for my driving lessons?
Please remember to bring your permit. We cannot let you drive without it! Not having your permit during a lesson will result in a $50 late-cancellation fee since we must cancel your lesson. We also ask that you wear comfortable, weather-appropriate clothing along with closed-toe shoes.
Can I request a specific driving instructor?
Our scheduling software lets you see all available driving lessons and who is teaching them. If your preferred instructor is open, you can select them for a lesson.
Will I have the same instructor for every lesson?
Our scheduling software lets you see all available driving lessons and who is teaching them. You may choose the same instructor for each lesson if they are open or try a different instructor.
What if I need to cancel or reschedule my driving lesson?
Should you need to reschedule a lesson, you may do so by logging into your account on our website. You must cancel or reschedule at least 48 hours in advance to avoid a $50 late cancellation fee.