Students may attain their permit once they turn 15 years old. Before getting their permit they will need to finish a driver's education course through a state licensed school and pass the knowledge test at their local DVS. They must be at least 14 years old when they begin taking the classroom course. Once they have their permit they can begin driving with their parents. At the age of 16 they may take a road test to receive their driver's license as long as they have practiced at least 50 hours with a parent, completed 6 hours of behind the wheel lessons with a state licensed driving school, and have held their permit for at least 6 months.
What is ‘online driver’s education’?
The state of Minnesota now allows Minnesota driving schools to offer online self-paced classes. We have partnered with a local company to develop an online program specifically for Minnesota students. This is not a national program that tries to cover the laws of all 50 states. It is specific to the laws and challenges of driving in the midwest and especially here in Minnesota. A similar program used in Wisconsin saw a pass rate of 95% for students attempting their permit test for the first time. This was even higher than in-person classes. This is not a program that students can click through or not be present for. To complete each section, students will need to complete a short quiz to ensure they are retaining the information.
What is the online class process?
Within one business day of registering, you will receive an email with login info for the Safety & Respect student portal account. This is the account you will use for scheduling driving lessons and making any payments. A second ‘Welcome’ email will be sent to the student email address asking you to confirm your email address and set a password. This is the account you will use to complete your online class. Due to state law you can only complete up to 3 hours of lessons in one day. This means if you do 3 hours a day, you will be able to finish the class in 10 days. You have up to 90 days to complete the class. If you need more time, a 30-day extension ($30) can be added to your account. Students are able to navigate the course using a desktop computer, tablet or phone.
What do I do at the end of the online class?
You should schedule your permit test for a date that is about one week after you will finish the class. We will be notified when you have completed the class and will mail your blue card, which is required in order to take the permit test at the DVS.
Register and complete one of our 30 hour classroom sessions to receive your blue card. It's best to take the class as close to your 15th birthday as possible but you may take the class as you soon as you turn 14. After your 15th birthday you'll go to the DVS building and remember to bring your blue card, social security card, and official birth certificate (not the hospital version). You'll need to pass the computer permit test by attaining at least an 80% on up to 40 questions. At the current time, the DVS is requiring students to schedule their permit test. At the same website you'll find a link for pre registering for your permit and you may register to take the permit test at your home. This allows the DVS to have all of your information on file prior to your arrival. The fee for the learner's permit is $15.50. The DVS does not accept credit cards.
Our state licensed teachers use power points, videos, tests and quizzes. We have built power points based from the Minnesota Driver's Manual, important driving laws and techniques, and information that is likely to be on the permit test. Students may take notes during class if they wish. Students are expected to be in class for the full 3 hours each day. If a student misses a class, they will have an opportunity to make up the class during any upcoming class period. They will want to schedule the make up class so that they attend the same day they missed. Once a student has completed 30 hours of classroom training they will receive a blue card.
You'll need to complete at least 3 two hour lessons with our instructors. At the end of your 3rd lesson you will receive a white card. This white card is proof that you have completed your 6 hours of required behind the wheel training. You'll take this white card, along with your permit and driving log to your road test. You should schedule your road test 30 days prior to your desired test date. In order to take the road test you'll also need to have held your permit for at least 6 months, be at least 16 years old and have completed your driving log (50 hours of driving and at least 15 of those hours at night). If parents have attended the parent class and have their completion certificate, students will only need to log 40 total hours of driving with parents.
You can schedule lessons by calling our office or by logging into your account. You should schedule your first lesson after about 10-20 hours of driving. You should schedule your second lesson about half way between your first lesson and your desired road test date. It is best to schedule your last lesson about a week before your road test. You should schedule your road test first and then call or go online to schedule your last lesson.
During the first 6 months of licensure, driving is prohibited from midnight until 5 a.m. unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years old, driving between home and work, driving between home and a school event for which the school does not provide transportation, or driving for employment purposes. During the first 6 months of licensure, only one passenger under the age of 20 (not a member of the driver's immediate family) is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. During the second 6 months of licensure, no more than three passengers under the age of 20 (not members of the driver's immediate family) are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
We ask that your full balance be paid prior to the last day of your classroom
session. If you need assistance and would like a payment plan we ask that
you do the following:
Pay $50 registration fee prior to starting class.
Pay $100 prior to the last day of class.
Pay $100 prior to scheduling your first lesson.
Pay $100 prior to scheduling your 2nd lesson.
Pay your full remaining balance prior to scheduling your 3rd lesson.